N30N City RUMBLE FAQ
NOTE: The most commonly asked questions are listed at the top. If you would like to submit a question, please head over to our NCR Forum or email Davy at DavyWagnarok@gmail.com
Check out this handy brawl boost reference sheet rudy wilde cooked up over the weekend! keep in mind that the stats are from the attacking player's perspective!
How do Challenges work in the game? The manual is very vague about it. Can both players fulfill the challenge at anytime? How do you keep track of how many parts of the challenge is complete? Some ask for 2 uppercuts and 1 sweep, for example; are they on the same turn?
Good questions! Yes, both players may work toward completing a Challenge listed on the back of the Item and/or Weapon card that are at the top of the decks in the Pit-Stop. Since players do not discard used cards until after the Counter phase is over, the player who completed a Challenge would show the opponent the cards he/she used that match the ingredients listed on the Challenge. This means that, yes, a player must complete a Challenge in a single combat round, and cannot stack them or put cards on hold to complete a Challenge later, since all cards are discarded after the round is over.
How do I tell if a character is a monster/animal? Is Fifi a monster? She has weird-colored skin so she would count as a mutant right?
Interesting. We'll let Fifi know you said that about her! :P Honestly, we left this up to the players' discretion. If your table considers Fifi to be a monster, then so be it (though I wouldn't say it to her face if I were you). However, it should be noted that Moody Ruby is, in fact, female. And a monster.
Recently, on the NCR Forum, we were asked some questions regarding how "banking" works at the Pit-Stop:
1. Banking is done after receiving the 3 Brawl of the Pit-Stop, correct?
2. Can I first add something to the bank and immediately cash it in?
3. Can I cash as much as I want or do I HAVE to cash everything?
4. Suppose I have $3 in the bank, ready to cash, and I exceed my hand limit. What is the order of action here? What if I first bank until I reach the 7 card hand limit, and then cash in to draw more cards, thus exceeding my limit again? Does this mean that I can repeat this process ad infinitum?
To answer these in order:
1. There is no rule for when you must bank cards, though I would assume that players would like to first collect the nominal 3 Brawl cards before they do. You could shop for cards and then decide to bank what's left. It's really up to the player's discretion. The Pit-Stop is kind flexible when it comes to its order of operations.
2. Negative. A player must wait a full combat round before the cards are converted into cash. So you will never see an instance where a player will bank a card and instantly use it to purchase something at the Pit-Stop.
3. You can cash as much as you want, though you cannot enter the next round with more than 7 cards in your hand. If you have nine cards, for instance, then you must choose and bank two of them before proceeding into the next combat round.
4. Well, you can't cash in the cards you just purchased because they take a full combat round to process into money. You could, however, decide to bank a card you just drew from the Pit-Stop, but again, it won't be ready to use until the next Pit-Stop.
Kickstarter backer, Robert Z'Dario asked: "So who is Tiny Funaki? Is he in Neon City Rumble? I saw him on the concept art for Pocket Neon City Rumble (PK NCR). I also noticed a portrait on the Fighter Tuckbox that could possibly be him. I don't have a card for him, and I don't remember seeing a preview for him. Is he a pro-wrestler?
You found an Easter Egg, sir! ;) Yes, we are introducing Tiny in PK NCR. He is actually a character for "Body Kaiser: Extreme Co-Op Wrestling," arriving early-mid 2016 on Kickstarter, which is indeed, a wrestling-themed game. We're super excited for this one because it involves minis and thematically, it taps into classic wrestling games like Saturday Night Slam Masters and 3-Bout Count. :D
Why would I ever use Kiefer's Strike if all it does is give -X to my attack, while dealing damage to my own team?
The "+" is much too small and looks like a "-". Apologies about that! So, basically, if you dealt 4 damage (1 point against each other Fighter on your team) then Kiefer would receive +4 to his attack! This is great early game, but later on it becomes a sacrifice/risk for the user, as it greatly weakens your remaining Fighters to pull this off.
If an opponent plays a defensive Item like Food or Threads does the Attacker have to cancel the item to do deal damage that turn or does the defender risk taking damage to use those items? Hypothetical scenario: The Attacker plays a Punch card and the Defender plays a Food that is cancelled by Sweep. The Attacker didn't cancel the Food which means the effects of that Item are still activated. However, the Defender will still take damage from the Punch because the Food doesn't deflect it, right?
Yes, anytime you cancel Items, Weapons, or Brawl you deal 1 damage (unless you boost) and also draw 1 N30N. And yes, the inquirer was right in their hypothetical scenario ^. The defender's food would go off at the same time the attack does, so if the character had 2 life and the food replenished 2 life, then he would go up to 4 HP, but the attacker also dealt 2 HP. No damage was exchanged that round.
MMA Gloves and red gi (pink equippable items): the card reads that you gain +1 attack when defending with "Punch" (not Parry) and Sweep (not Jump) but how is that supposed to work when you can't defend using an attack Brawl?
I was saddened beyond description after seeing these typos. Admittedly, I changed these cards too many times over the year and made them liable to misprint. I am so sorry this happened. For now, change the words from "Defending" to "Attacking" and vice versa when applicable. We will definitely correct these typos in the next edition of NCR! If you catch any more, please let us know! -Davy Wagnarok
Do you boost your Brawl cards after they have been revealed, or does the player have to lay the Neon down with the Brawl card before it is flipped? If I play a Punch with a Neon slot, and my opponent plays a Parry, can I boost it with Neon to still deliver damage - or does it still get cancelled regardless of whether it is boosted or not? For that matter, can the opponent then boost his Parry to continue to avoid the damage? Furthermore, if I play a +2 Punch, and the opponent plays an un-boosted Parry, does he only cancel one point of damage while still taking one?
You boost Brawl after the cards have been flipped, and yes, this does mean that an opponent could boost a defensive Brawl to actually turn it into a Counter Attack! A Brawl is cancelled unless you have N30N to boost it up. If N30N is not used to boost a Brawl, then you go by the "cancelled by" portion on the card. So, if no boosting is involved in a Punch vs Parry, then the Parry wins by default. However, if the attacker were to boost his Punch once, then the values are evened out and no damage is dealt. If the attacker were to boost it TWO times, then not only did he cancel the Parry, but now he is counter attacking for 1 point of damage!
Kickstarter backer, Lance Codrain, asks: "What if the defender boosts his card but it isn't the right one (e.g. The attacker uses an un-boosted Punch, and the defender uses a Jump boosted once)? Boosting happens after cards are revealed, right? What I'm getting at is: can I boost a "losing card"? Another example would be: The attacker Sweeps, while the defender uses a Parry... The attacker has clearly won, but can the Defender boost the Parry to negate the attack?"
Yes, the defender could boost his/her "losing" card to negate, or even counter-attack the opponent. If N30N is not used to boost a Brawl, then you go by the "cancelled by" portion on the card.
Am I correct in assuming that using Sucker Punch (SP) allows my opponent to take back ANY card he/she played during the attack instance between their Fighter and my Fighter, who used the SP? Does this include VHS, Weapons, Items, and so on?
Yes, the attacker would be able to draw the card back to their hand, but now the defender knows they the opponent is holding onto a VHS, Weapon, or whatever.
Can I attack or defend diagonally?
No. A Fighter can only engage an opponent directly across, unless the card says otherwise or the Fighter is in “2nd Wind.”
Must I attack or defend with all of my Fighters?
You do not have to attack or defend with every Fighter. Sometimes, it’s more prudent to not act, so that you can save cards for trading at the Pit-Stop.
Can I cancel an Item / weapon using Brawl?
Yes, so long as the Brawl type you wish to use is listed under the “Cancelled By” on the opponent’s Item or Weapon.
If I attack an opponent but she defends with a Wall, do I still get N30N for doing damage to the Wall?
No. You must deliver at least 1 point of damage to an opposing Fighter in order to be awardedN30N.
What happens when my weapon is not strong enough to tear down an opponent’s Wall?
A Weapon must exceed the Wall’s Defense value in order to remove it from play and deal damage to its user. Otherwise, the Wall soaks the damage and no harm is done to the defending Fighter.
Can I revive after my last Fighter has been K.O.d?
No. The match is over the moment your last Fighter is K.O.d.
May I use a higher-grade N30N to pay for a Strike/Counter that only costs 1 N30N?
Yes, though you cannot keep the excess N30N and you run the risk of wasting a valuable N30N card in the event an opponent attempts to cancel.
Can I pay extra N30N cards to beef up a Strike/Counter?
Not exactly. You cannot increase the effectiveness of a Strike or Counter by paying extra N30N, though you can increase the amount of N30N an opponent will need in order to stop your move from going off. For example, if you pay 2 Natural Toxic cards to activate a Strike that costs 1 Toxic, then the opponent will have to use at least 2 Cosmo from their hand in order to stop your Strike from activating.
If one of my Fighters is K.O.d, can I use their Counter to replenish their HP and revive them?
No. Technically, the Fighter was knocked out before the Counter phase, which takes place AFTER the Attack/Defend phase. Once a Fighter is K.O.d, they cannot be used until revived at the Pit- Stop.
How many Threads can I equip on a fighter?
A Fighter can only have one Thread equipped during a match. If you replace a Fighter’s old Thread with a new one, the former is discarded to the Junkyard.
Can I clear a challenge on the back of an item or weapon card that is being held by my opponent?
No. You may only clear Challenges from the Item and Weapon cards on the top of the deck at the Pit-Stop. Challenges are disabled when these cards are sent to the Junkyard.
Does my defensive Brawl have to cancel an attack before I can boost it with N30N?
No. You may boost ANY Brawl in play, so long as you have the necessary ingredients. All damage that goes above zero rewards the user with N30N cards. Should you defend with a Brawl but the attacker chooses not to act, your Brawl is worth zero damage, because it isn’t evading anything. However, if you boost the Brawl even once, it will become an attack, since it will be worth 1 damage point against the opponent.